The Black Magic Man by Ju Ephraime

If you asked me in what genre I would place this book, I would be hard pressed for an answer. Going by the name and the blurb, I expected a paranormal theme, but this book is so much more. The author weaves in romance, suspense and intrigue seamlessly into her story. The characters reach out to you and at various points in the book I kept rooting for different characters, because of the circumstances and situations that they found themselves in.

I couldn’t decide whether Jean was good or bad, nice or not. The things he does are for reasons beyond his control and you kind of sympathise with him. Solange is torn between the two men and having met both, you aren’t sure who you want her to end up with and you can’t wait to see who it will be. This is the first book that I have read by this author and am sure I will be reading a lot more. I love her writing style. It is lyrical and pleasing. I enjoyed the book and will recommend it.

Leave a Reply

